How to remove activation lock on an iphone

Activation Lock is a new feature in iOS 7 that ties your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch with your Apple ID so that if your phone gets stolen, the thief has to know your login credentials to turn off Find My iPhone or erase the phone to factory state.

While this a great feature for everyone, it can be a bit of a problem if you have Activation Lock turned on when you sell your phone, since the buyer doesn’t know your Apple ID. So here’s how you can turn of Activation Lock, courtesy of the gadget repurchase experts at Gazelle.

  • Open the Settings app on your iPhone and go to the iCloud section
  • Scroll down until you see a Find My iPhone toggle, and turn it off.
  • When you turn it off, iOS will ask you for your iCloud password. After entering, tap “Turn Off” and you should have both Find My iPhone as well as Activation Lock turned off.

Of course, it’s also possible that you forget to turn of Find My iPhone before selling the device, but fortunately, Apple has a way to turn it off even from the iCloud web-interface. So if you’ve already sold the device, these are the steps you should follow:

  • Go to iCloud.com and sign in to your account.
  • Open “Find my iPhone”, and click on the “Devices” button to get a list of all devices tied to your Apple ID. (Note that it might take some time for iCloud to determine the location of your devices.)
  • Click on the device you’ve sold. It should show a gray dot or the word “Offline” next to the device name.
  • Click on “Remove from account”. You will get a confirmation message. Click on ‘Remove’ to remove the device from your account.

Most trade-in companies won’t pay for iPhones with Activation Lock turned-on, since it might be possible that the device is stolen. You can choose any of the two methods above to turn-off Activation Lock, and prepare your iPhone for resale.

Find My includes Activation Lock—a feature that’s designed to prevent anyone else from using your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, if it’s ever lost or stolen. Activation Lock turns on automatically when you turn on Find My on your device.

How to remove activation lock on an iphone

Activation Lock helps you keep your device secure, even if it’s in the wrong hands, and can improve your chances of recovering it. Even if you erase your device remotely, Activation Lock can continue to deter anyone from reactivating your device without your permission. All you need to do is keep Find My turned on, and remember your Apple ID and password.

With watchOS 2 and later, you can use Activation Lock to protect your Apple Watch. And with macOS Catalina or later and Mac computers that have the Apple T2 Security Chip or Apple silicon you can use Activation Lock to protect your Mac, too.

Here’s how it works

Each time an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch, or Mac computer that has an Apple T2 security chip or Apple silicon is activated or recovered, the device contacts Apple to check whether Activation Lock is turned on.

Activation Lock turns on automatically when you set up Find My.* After it’s turned on, Apple securely stores your Apple ID on its activation servers and links it to your device. Your Apple ID password or device passcode is required before anyone can turn off Find My, erase your device, or reactivate and use your device.

If your device is lost or stolen

If you ever misplace your device—whether it’s lost or you think it might have been stolen—you should immediately use Mark As Lost in the Find My app.

Mark As Lost locks your screen with a passcode and lets you display a custom message with your phone number to help you get it back. You can also remotely erase your device if needed. Your custom message continues to display even after the device is erased.

While Activation Lock works in the background to make it more difficult for someone to use or sell your missing device, Lost Mode clearly shows anyone who finds your device that it still belongs to you and can’t be reactivated without your password.

If you forget your Apple ID or password

Your Apple ID is the account that you use to sign in to all Apple services. Usually, your Apple ID is your email address. If you forget your it, we can help you find your Apple ID.

If you can’t find your Apple ID or reset your password, you’ll lose access to your account and might be unable to use or reactivate your device. To help prevent this, visit your Apple ID account page periodically to review and update your account information.

Check for Activation Lock before you buy a device from someone else

Before you buy an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, from someone other than Apple or an authorized Apple reseller, make sure that the device is erased and no longer linked to the previous owner’s account. Follow these steps to check if the device is ready to use:

  1. Turn on and unlock the device.
  2. If the passcode lock screen or the Home screen appears, the device hasn’t been erased. Ask the seller to completely erase the device by going to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Don’t take ownership of any used iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch until it’s been erased.
  3. Begin the device setup process.
  4. If you’re asked for the previous owner’s Apple ID and password, the device is still linked to their account. Hand the device back to the seller and ask them to enter their password. If the previous owner isn’t present, contact them as soon as possible and ask them to use a browser to remove the device from their account. Don’t take ownership of any used iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch until it has been removed from the previous owner’s account.

You will know that a device is ready for you to use when you’re asked to “Set up your iPhone,” “Set up your iPad,” or “Set up your iPod” the first time you turn it on.

Before you give away your device or send it in for service

Make sure that you turn off Find My on your device before you give it away or send it in for repair. Otherwise, your device is locked and anyone that you give the device to can’t use it normally and Apple technicians can’t perform service repairs. Just sign out of iCloud and then erase all content and settings. This completely erases your device, removes it from your Apple ID, and turns off Find My.

In iOS 10.3 or later:

  1. Tap Settings > [your name].
  2. Scroll down and tap Sign Out.
  3. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off.
  4. Go back to Settings.
  5. Tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

In iOS 10.2 or earlier:

  1. Tap Settings > iCloud.
  2. Scroll down and tap Sign Out > Sign Out.
  3. Tap Delete from My iPhone and enter your password.
  4. Go back to Settings.
  5. Tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.